Schedule an appointment Call 877-308-9954

Information for International Students

Never before have boundaries and borders been so easy to cross, and knowledge and experiences so easy to share—which is why Saint Mary’s University is pleased to welcome international students to our online degree programs. As an international student attending Saint Mary’s online, you will study and interact with people with different professional experiences while earning an advanced degree from a respected, accredited American university. Also, because tuition at Saint Mary’s is based on the program in which you enroll, you pay the same rates as U.S. students no matter which country you call home.

Because you do not need to come to the United States to earn your degree, visa requirements do not apply.

Proof of English Proficiency

If English is not your native language*, you must provide evidence of successfully achieving one of the following exam scores:

  • TOEFL: 72 or higher
  • IELTS: 6.0 or higher
  • MELAB: 74% or higher
  • ITEP: 4.0 or higher
  • PTE: 51 or higher

Test may be waived for applicants who have completed 30 undergraduate or 12 graduate credits from an accredited U.S. institution or the equivalent of these credits from institutions in the U.K., Ireland, New Zealand, Australia, and Canada (except for the Quebec province).

Academic Credential Evaluation

Transcripts from countries other than the U.S. must be evaluated and deemed equivalent to accredited U.S. university standards on a course-by-course basis by World Education Services or Education Credential Evaluators. You are responsible for pursuing this evaluation, as well as for associated costs.

Please submit your original, official credential evaluation and proof of proficiency to:

Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota
Online Processing Center

851 Trafalgar Court, Suite 420
Maitland, FL 32751

Learn More

Learn more about how Saint Mary’s University can help you get the education you desire: call us at 877-308-9954 or request more information today.


*Foreign credential information: Students from countries of origin besides the United States, United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, and Canada (not including the providence of Quebec) are required to take one of three qualifying exams.